GK Question: These 11 countries, including Turkey, have changed their names, for reasons ranging from marketing to a love of history

GK Question: Currently there are 195 countries in the world. These are countries that have been recognized by the United Nations. There are many countries that have changed their names. There are many reasons behind it like change in border, war, freedom, honor of leader, history, language. Apart from this, countries are also changing their names due to political reasons. Most countries adopted a new name to erase the past. Some even changed their names to attract tourists.

Here is a list of countries that have changed their name

  1. Turkey to Turkey
  2. Persia to Iran
  3. Siam to Thailand
  4. Democratic Kampuchea to Cambodia
  5. Burma to Myanmar
  6. Holland to the Netherlands
  7. Irish Free State to Ireland
  8. Ceylon to Sri Lanka
  9. Rhodesia to Zimbabwe
  10. Czech Republic to Czechia
  11. Swaziland to Iswatini

Turkey to Turkey

Turkey changed its name to Turkiye in 2021. President Recep Tayyip Erdogan said that Turkey is the best representation and expression of the culture, civilization and values ​​of the Turkish people.

Persia to Iran

Before 1935, the official name of Iran was Persia.

Siam to Thailand

Thailand is one of the few countries in South Asia that was never a British or French colony. Earlier there was a king’s rule. Which is called Siam. The name was changed to Thailand in 1939 when a constitutional monarchy came to Thailand.

Democratic Kampuchea to Cambodia

Cambodia’s name has been changed several times. Between 1953 and 1970, the country was called the Kingdom of Cambodia. After that, its name remained Khmer Republic until 1975. It was renamed Democratic Kampuchea under communist rule from 1975 to 1979. From 1989 to 1993, it was named the Kingdom of Cambodia under the UN Transitional Authority. After the return of the monarchy, it was renamed the Kingdom of Cambodia in 1993.

Burma to Myanmar

Its old name is Burma. In 1989, it was renamed Myanmar under a military junta regime.

Holland to the Netherlands

In 2020, Holland was united as the Netherlands. It had two parts, South Holland and North Holland.

Irish Free State to Ireland

In 1937, the people of the Irish Free State changed the country’s name to Ireland. Also terminated all agreements with United Kingdom i.e. UK. After that two years there was a terrible war with Britain.

Ceylon to Sri Lanka

In 105 the Portuguese renamed Sri Lanka as Ceilão. Later, in the 19th century, the British Empire changed its name to Ceylon. After independence from Britain, it was renamed Sri Lanka.

Swaziland to Iswatini

In April 2018, the King of Swaziland changed the country’s name to Iswatini. Although locals already refer to Swaziland as Iswatini. Actually the word Swaziland is a translation of the local language Iswatini. That means the land of the Swazi people.

Rhodesia to Zimbabwe

Rhodesia was the name of the colony. Between 1953 and 1963, Southern Rhodesia joined the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland along with Northern Rhodesia and Nyasaland. Zimbabwe became a republic in April 1980.

Czech Republic to Czechia

After the dissolution of the Soviet Union, Czechoslovakia was divided into two countries, Slovakia and the Czech Republic, in 1993. Subsequently, the Czech Republic also adopted the short name Žekia to simplify companies, sports teams, etc.

Also Read-
Govt Jobs 2023: Navratna Company 277 Vacancies, Know Who Can Apply
UPTET 2023 Notification: Awaiting UPTET 2023 Notification, Read Latest Updates

Tags: Competitive Exams, Jobs and careers

For more Business updates, Click here.

Leave a Comment